Activist community

Wisconsin Community Shares: This Thursday: Community Changemakers Awards

Madison, WI – On September 22, Community Shares of Wisconsin (CSW) will honor local leaders and organizations that are advancing social and environmental justice in our community. The annual Community Change-Maker Awards event will take place at Union South and online. The public is invited to attend the event.

Tickets purchased to support this event help Community Shares award $1,000 each to six nonprofits. Tickets are a suggested donation of $50.

For more information and tickets, visit

CSW Collaboration Award Winners

Midwest Conservationists, Wisconsin River Allianceand Wisconsin Environmental Health Network (the environmental branch of Doctors for Social Accountability Wisconsin), for using the power of the law to protect the health of Wisconsin communities.

These organizations, along with other environmental and public health organizations, worked together to defend and enforce spill law when Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce, Wisconsin’s largest trade lobbyist, sued the Department of Natural Resources in the purpose of undermining the law.

CSW Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

R. Richard (Dick) Wagner, for being instrumental in the movement for LGBTQ equality in Wisconsin and in particular in Dane County. Awarded posthumously.

In his 33-year career, Wagner was the first openly gay member of the Dane County Board of Supervisors, chaired the first Governor’s Council on Lesbian and Gay Issues, and joined the Fair Wisconsin Board of Directors. to fight against the constitutional amendment against marriage. equality. Upon retirement, he published two books on Wisconsin’s gay history.

Change-Maker Award Winners

Dana Pellebonnominated by OutReach LGBTQ+ Community Center – Winner of the Liesl Blockstein Community Leadership Award

Pellebon is an activist, artist and educator. As Co-Executive Director of the Rape Crisis Center, OutReach Board Member, and newly elected member of the Dane County Board of Directors
Supervisors, Pellebon’s impact is embedded in the grassroots work taking place throughout Dane County.

Phyllis Greenbergernominated by Disability Rights Wisconsin – Winner of the Sally Sunde Family Advocate Award

Greenberger has been a tireless champion for children and youth with disabilities since her start at Disability Rights Wisconsin more than 30 years ago. A creative problem solver and fierce advocate, Greenberger uses his deep knowledge of systems and resources to improve the lives of children in need of support and accommodation.

Elizabeth Lambertnominated by ACLU Foundation of Wisconsin – Linda Sundberg Civil Rights Advocacy Award Winner

Lambert understands that for students to thrive in school, they need strong advocates. In her role as an Equal Justice Works Fellow at the ACLU of Wisconsin, she represents students and families struggling with discriminatory practices within the school system.