Activist state

TMC sets up state-level committee in Goa to strengthen grassroots

The Trinamool Congress (TMC) on Wednesday announced the establishment of a committee of 19 member states in Goa to strengthen its base in the coastal state.

The Mamata Banerjee-led TMC had contested the Goa elections held earlier this year, but failed to win a single seat in the 40-member assembly.

TMC leader Samil Volvoikar told reporters the party had formed a 19-member state-level committee.

Volvoikar and Mariano Rodrigues were named co-organizers. Environmental activist Rajendra Kakodkar has been appointed President of North Goa and social activist Dr Jorson Fernandes President of South Goa.

Shivdas Naik and Kanta Gaude are Co-Chairs for South Goa and North Goa respectively.

Eight other party officials were appointed general secretaries and five secretaries.

Apart from the formation of the committee, the TMC has also appointed the heads of its various wings in Goa.

Avita Bandodkar will lead the women’s wing of TMC in Goa, while Anthony Pixeto will be the youth wing coordinator.

Trajano D’Mello is the communications wing coordinator for TMC and Sultana Shaikh is the minority wing coordinator.

Shankar Mandrekar is the coordinator of the Scheduled Castes/Scheduled Tribes wing of the party and Anand Naik is the coordinator of the Other Backward Classes wing.

(This story has not been edited by the Devdiscourse team and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)